Search This Blog

Translate

White House.gov Press Office Feed

Saturday, October 4, 2014

NASA RELEASES IMAGE OF TYPHOON PHANFONE

FROM:  NASA 

NASA's Terra satellite captured this image of Typhoon Phanfone and its large eye in the western Pacific Ocean on Friday, Oct. 3 at 1:55 UTC.  Image Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team.

The Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission or TRMM satellite flew over Typhoon Phanfone on Oct. 2, 2014 at 0939 UTC (5:39 a.m. EDT). The rainfall pattern observed using TRMM's Microwave Imager (TMI) and Precipitation Radar (PR) data showed that Phanfone was much better organized than a day earlier. This precipitation analysis revealed that intensifying typhoon Phanfone had formed a large eye. The heaviest rainfall was shown falling at a rate of over 50 mm (almost 2 inches) per hour in the northern side of the typhoon's eye wall.

On Oct. 3 at 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EDT), Typhoon Phanfone's maximum sustained winds were near 110 knots (126.6 mph/203.7 kph). It was centered near 23.6 north longitude and 134.4 east latitude, about 374 nautical miles west-southwest of the island of Iwo To. Phanfone has tracked northwestward at 12 knots (13.8 mph/22.2 kph).

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center (JTWC) predicts intensifying Phanfone's wind speeds will peak at 125 knots (144 mph) on October 3, 2014. The typhoon is then predicted to gradually weaken and it's track to re-curve toward the northeast and pass to the southeast of Tokyo, Japan on October 5-6, 2014.  Hal Pierce and Rob Gutro.  NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center.